Acoustic Emission Sensors with Integrated Measuring System

2nd Generation: - 2G.PoE, 2G.WiFi, 2G.PoE.L, 2G.WiFi.L -

2G.PoE.IX.140k
AE sensor with integrated measuring system of the 2nd generation

Operating principle: Sensors with integrated acoustic emission systems have been developing by KERT for three years. Now the second generation of these sensors is presented. The sensor housing contains an analog section, a digital signal processing unit and a web server. The analogue part amplifies the sensor signal and forms the logarithmic envelop for data reduction. AE parameters such as arrival time, rise time, duration, peak amplitude and energy are extracted from the envelope by the digital signal processing unit. In parallel to the parameter extraction, the waveform of the envelope can be recorded. The web server generates dynamic web pages to control the sensor and to display the measurement results. The sensor is either wireless (type WiFi) or via Ethernet cable (type PoE) connected to a data network.

Type WiFi: The data transmission takes place in the 2.4 MHz band. A lithium accumulator of standard size 25500 takes over the power supply. An obvious advantage is that no cable is necessary. The maximum hit rate over all channels is between 1.5 and 20 kHits/s, depending on other traffic in the 2.4 MHz band. The lithium battery allows operating times of at least 8 hours. 24 hours are achieved at low hit rates. The power consumption of one sensor is less than 1.64 W.

Type PoE: An Ethernet cable is used for both power supply and data transmission (Power over Ethernet). The maximum hit rate over all channels amount to 300 kHits/s. The power consumption of one sensor is less than 0.88 W.

Types WiFi.L and PoE.L: Sensors with the type designation L at the end have a submicrosecond precise time synchronization. Together with a so-called Mid Device, it is possible to set up sensor networks that allow location of the AE sources. Here the Mid Device creates the dynamic web pages. For the PoE variant, only cable lengths are required that correspond to the sensor distances. This is a significant advance over locating systems with pure centralized signal processing.

Improvements over the 1st generation:


Frequenzverhalten des Sensors 2G.WiFi.360k

The piezoelectric element and the analog part are matched to each other to achieve optimum sensitivity of the sensors. The adjacent figure shows a typical frequency behavior.

Schallemissionssensoren mit integriertem Messsystem

2. Generation: - 2G.PoE, 2G.WiFi, 2G.PoE.L, 2G.WiFi.L -

2G.PoE.IX.140k
AE-Sensor mit integriertem Messystem der 2. Generation

Funktionsprinzip: Seit drei Jahren entwickeln wir Sensoren mit integrierten Schallemissionssystemen. Hier wird die zweite Generation dieser Sensoren vorgestellt. Das Sensorgehäuse enthält ein Analogteil, eine digitale Signalverarbeitungseinheit und einen Webserver. Das Analogteil verstärkt das Sensorsignal und bildet zur Datenreduzierung die logarithmische Einhüllende. AE-Parameter wie Ankunftszeit, Anstiegszeit, Signaldauer, Spitzenamplitude und Energie werden von der digitalen Signalverarbeitungseinheit aus der Hüllkurve extrahiert. Parallel zur Parameterbildung kann die Wellenform der Hüllkurve aufgezeichnet werden. Der Webserver generiert dynamische Webseiten, um den Sensor zu steuern und die Messergebnisse anzuzeigen. Der Sensor ist entweder drahtlos (Typ WiFi) oder über ein Ethernet-Kabel (Typ PoE) mit einem Datennetzwerk verbunden.

Typ WiFi: Die Datenübertragung erfolgt drahtlos im 2,4-MHz-Band. Ein Lithium-Akkumolator der Standardgröße 25500 übernimmt die Stromversorgung. Ein offensichtlicher Vorteil ist, dass kein Kabel benötigt wird. Die maximale Hitrate über alle Kanäle liegt zwischen 1,5 und 20 kHits/s, abhängig von dem Datenverkehr anderer Nutzer im 2,4-MHz-Band. Die Lithiumbatterie erlaubt Betriebszeiten von mindestens 8 Stunden. 24 Stunden werden bei niedrigen Hitraten erreicht. Der Stromverbrauch eines Sensors beträgt weniger als 1,64 W.

Typ PoE: Ein Ethernet-Kabel wird sowohl für die Stromversorgung als auch für die Datenübertragung verwendet (Power over Ethernet). Die maximale Hitrate über alle Kanäle beträgt 300 kHits/s. Der Stromverbrauch eines Sensors beträgt maximal 0,88 W.

Typen WiFi.L and PoE.L: Sensoren mit der Typenbezeichnung L am Ende verfügen über eine Zeitsynchronisation im Submikrosekundenbereich. Unter Verwendung eines sogenannten Mid Device können Sensornetzwerke eingerichtet werden, die eine Ortung der AE-Quellen ermöglichen. Hier erstellt das Mid Device die dynamischen Webseiten. Bei der PoE-Variante werden lediglich Kabellängen benötigt, die den Aufnehmerabständen entsprechen. Das ist ein erheblicher Fortschritt gegenüber Ortungssystemen mit rein zentraler Signalverarbeitung.


Verbesserungen gegenüber der 1. Generation:


Frequenzverhalten des Sensors 2G.WiFi.360k

Das piezoelektrische Element und der analoge Teil sind aufeinander abgestimmt, um eine optimale Empfindlichkeit der Sensoren zu erreichen. Die nebenstehende Abbildung zeigt ein typisches Frequenzverhalten.