Mid Device

Sensors without locating send the dynamic websites directly into the network (see figure on the far right). If the type designation ends with an L, the sensors have sub-microsecond time synchronization. Together with the Mid Device (red), it is possible to set up sensor networks that allow location of the AE sources. The mid device receives the measurement data, stores it on an SSD and generates the dynamic web pages.

Mid Device 2G.MD.54V for the source location
Technical Specification
SSD
1 TB
Data Transfer to Sensors
IEEE 802.11b/g/n or
IEEE 802.3 Clause 25
Data Transfer to Net
IEEE 802.11ac or
IEEE 802.3 Clause 40
IP Address
Fixed, Auto, DHCP
Power Supply
12 V oder 54 V DC
Power Consumption
< 12 W
Mass
1220 g
Dimension
160x165x52 mm3
Outer Casing
Aluminum
Protection Class
IP 40, IP 54 or IP 67

Application example tank floor test:

The tank floor test is a typical example of the use of mobile acoustic emission systems. The aim is to locate weak points in the tank bottom, which otherwise can only be detected after emptying and cleaning the tank. In the lower part of the tank shell, sensors are installed in two rows on top of each other in order to filter out and locate events from the ground area. If one uses conventional detection systems with central signal processing unit, the sensor cables must reach around the storage tank. Due to the relocation of important system components into the sensors, only cable lengths are needed that correspond to the sensor distances. The WLAN types do not need any cables, but three mid devices because the tank shields the electromagnetic waves. The data exchange between the mid devices and the network takes place either in the 5 GHz band or via Ethernet.



With a tank diameter of 25 m, the sensor type 2G.PoE.L reduces the total cable length for a 32-channel system from 2240 m to 200 m. Depending on the network structure, the sensor type 2G.WiFi.L achieves a reduction from 2240 m to 80 m or does not require any sensor cables. The comparison refers to a system with purely central signal processing.

Mid Device

Sensoren ohne Ortung senden die dynamischen Webseiten direkt in das Netzwerk (siehe Abbildung ganz rechts). Wenn in der Typenbezeichnung am Ende ein L steht, verfügen die Sensoren über eine Zeitsynchronisation im Sub-Mikrosekundenbereich. Zusammen mit dem Mid Device (rot) können Sensornetzwerke eingerichtet werden, die die Lokalisierung der AE-Quellen ermöglichen. Das Mid Device empfängt die Messdaten, speichert diese auf einer SSD und erzeugt die dynamischen Webseiten.

Mid Device 2G.MD.54V für die Quellortung
Technische Daten
SSD
1 TB
Datentransfer Sensoren
IEEE 802.11b/g/n or
IEEE 802.3 Clause 25
Datentransfer Netz
IEEE 802.11ac or
IEEE 802.3 Clause 40
IP Address
Fixed, Auto, DHCP
Energieversorgung
12 V oder 54 V DC
Energieverbrauch
< 12 W
Masse
1220 g
Dimension
160x165x52 mm3
Außengehäuse
Aluminium
Schutzart
IP 40, IP 54 or IP 67

Anwendungsbeispiel Tankbodenprüfung:

Der Tankbodentest ist ein typisches Beispiel für den Einsatz von mobilen Schallemissionssystemen. Ziel ist es, Schwachstellen im Tankboden zu lokalisieren, die sonst nur nach Entleeren und Reinigen des Tanks erkannt werden können. Im unteren Teil des Tankmantels werden Sensoren in zwei Reihen übereinander installiert, um Ereignisse aus dem Bodenbereich herauszufiltern und zu lokalisieren. Wenn man herkömmliche AE-Systeme mit zentraler Signalverarbeitungseinheit verwendet, müssen die Sensorkabel um den Tank herumreichen. Durch die Verlagerung wichtiger Systemkomponenten in die Sensoren werden nur Kabellängen benötigt, die den Sensorabständen entsprechen. Die WLAN-Typen benötigen überhaupt keine Kabel, dafür aber drei Mid Devices, weil der Tank die elektromagnetischen Wellen abschirmt. Der Datenaustausch zwischen den Mid-Devices und dem Netzwerk erfolgt entweder im 5-GHz-Band oder über Ethernet.



Mit einem Tankdurchmesser von 25 m reduziert der Sensortyp 2G.PoE.L die Gesamtkabellänge für ein 32-Kanal-System von 2240 m auf 200 m. Je nach Netzwerkstruktur erreicht der Sensortyp 2G.WiFi.L eine Reduzierung von 2240 m auf 80 m bzw. erfordert keine Sensorkabel. Der Vergleich bezieht sich auf AE-Systeme mit einer rein zentralen Signalverarbeitung.